Rookie of the Year

Teacher retention and recruitment are vital to a quality education system. According to a 2003 study by the National Commission on Teaching and America’s Future, after just five years, between 40 and 50 percent of all beginning teachers have left the profession. We need to make sure that new teachers receive mentoring, support and recognition during their early years as educators.

Each spring, the Santa Rosa Education Foundation invites every school in the Santa Rosa School District to nominate one teacher for the Rookie of the Year award. Any classroom teacher in his/her third year or less of teaching is eligible for this award. This includes total teaching experience, not just in Santa Rosa public schools. The Santa Rosa Education Foundation’s Rookie of the Year committee reviews all applications and selects one outstanding nominee as the Santa Rosa Rookie of the Year. The Santa Rosa Rookie of the Year receives a Sara Caudell Scholarship from the Gulf Breeze Area Chamber of Commerce.

2014 Sponsors

Fast Cash ATM Services
Gulf Breeze Area Chamber of Commerce
Dr. Chris Bookout, SR Orthopaedics
In Memory of Vivian Burns
Jenny Granse
Ed Gray III
Gulf Power Company, Milton
GFWC Milton Woman’s Club
Oakleigh Farms
Omega Construction
Woodmen of the World Chapter 906

Congratulations to Corrina Nelson,

Santa Rosa Rookie of the Year 2014!




2014 Rookie of the Year Nominees

Santa Rosa Rookies of the Year Nominees 2014

School Teacher
Avalon Middle Michael Knowlton
Bagdad Elementary Michelle Childers
Berryhill Administrative Complex Carla Kirkpatrick
Berryhill Elementary Terri Ballinger
Central Mitch Lambeth
Chumuckla Elementary Paula Retzlaff
S.S. Dixon Intermediate Kristina Lilly
S.S. Dixon Primary Haley Watford
East Milton Elementary Amanda Young
Gulf Breeze Elementary Kimberly McCullough
Gulf Breeze High Sara Guilbeau
Gulf Breeze Middle Kelly Ratte
Hobbs Middle Rachael Gongre
Holley-Navarre Intermediate Karli Brothers
Holley-Navarre Middle Trisha Brinsfield
Holley-Navarre Primary Jennifer Hoskins
T.R. Jackson Pre-Kindergarten Joann Torres
Jay Elementary Tabatha Hawthorne
Jay High Kaylen Rowland
King Middle April Lundquist
Locklin Technical Center Mike Adams
Milton High Sarah Chism
Navarre High Marissa Falzone
Oriole Beach Elementary Danza Riatusso
Pace High Ryan Waters
Pea Ridge Elementary Jessica McGuire
W.H. Rhodes Elementary Lucille Dixon
B.C. Russell Elementary Alicia Matroni
Santa Rosa High Lindsey Martin
T.L. Sims Middle Sheri Meadows
West Navarre Intermediate Corrina Nelson
West Navarre Primary Sasha Lusk
Woodlawn Beach Middle Millie Rice