Rookie of the Year

Teacher retention and recruitment are vital to a quality education system. According to a 2003 study by the National Commission on Teaching and America’s Future, after just five years, between 40 and 50 percent of all beginning teachers have left the profession. We need to make sure that new teachers receive mentoring, support and recognition during their early years as educators.

Each spring, the Santa Rosa Education Foundation invites every school in the Santa Rosa School District to nominate one teacher for the Rookie of the Year award. Any classroom teacher in his/her third year or less of teaching is eligible for this award. This includes total teaching experience, not just in Santa Rosa public schools. The Santa Rosa Education Foundation’s Rookie of the Year committee reviews all applications and selects one outstanding nominee as the Santa Rosa Rookie of the Year.

Cailyn Hamstra was announced as the 2022 Santa Rosa Rookie of the Year.  Miss. Hamstra was presented with a monetary award from the Gulf Breeze Area Chamber of Commerce Foundation.  Congratulations to Cailyn!

Introducing our 2022 Santa Rosa Rookie of the Year Nominees!

Avalon Middle, Kristin Bryant 

Bagdad Elementary, Julianne Slichter 

Berryhill Elementary, Tena Wilson 

Central, Christopher Trantham 

Chumuckla Elementary, Lauren Hinote 

Dillon Admin Center, Tracy Lewis 

Dixon Intermediate, Danielle Ryan 

Dixon Primary, Rebekah Martin 

East Bay K-8, Joshua Williams 

East Milton Elementary, Megan Liddell 

Gulf Breeze Elementary, Ashley Tiner 

Gulf Breeze High, Cailyn Hamstra 

Hobbs Middle, Christopher Dixon 

Holley-Navarre Intermediate, Otis Simmons 

Holley-Navarre Middle, Alejandra Perez 

Holley-Navarre Primary, Regina Tudlong 

Jackson Pre-Kindergarten, Shauna Nance 

Jay Elementary, Laci Nowling 

Jay High, Hannah Laney 

King Middle, Frank Byers 

Locklin Technical Center, Wade Hall 

Milton High, Destiny Sidener 

Navarre High, Dillon Glover 

Oriole Beach Elementary, Emily McCallum 

Pace High, Deanna Jackson 

Pea Ridge Elementary, Emily Daffern 

Rhodes Elementary, Jade O’Berry 

Russell Elementary, Angela Earl 

Santa Rosa High/Adult, Lisa Mauro 

Santa Rosa Online, Angie Weidman 

Sims Middle, Sarah Widener 

West Navarre Intermediate, Ashley Rivers 

West Navarre Primary, Hannah Srogoncik 

Woodlawn Beach Middle, Michelle Alqudah

2022 Rookie of the Year Nominees