Teacher of the Year

Santa Rosa Education Foundation administers the Florida Department of Education’s Teacher of the Year Program for the Santa Rosa School District. This program celebrates the contributions of classroom teachers who demonstrate a superior capacity to inspire a love of learning in students of all backgrounds and abilities. Since its inception in 1988, the program continues to be a prestigious honor drawing participation from Florida’s 72 public school districts and other institutions.

Santa Rosa County is blessed with one of the finest school districts in the state of Florida. Over 1,850 teachers dedicate their days to ensure that the district’s 25,000 plus students are inspired to reach their full potential.  Year after year, these educators and students prove their success by ranking as a top district throughout the state in academics. Santa Rosa County’s high performing school system positively impacts its ability to attract new businesses and families.

Each October, every school selects a nominee for Santa Rosa Teacher of the Year. The nominees are carefully chosen to represent a passion for learning, innovation, inspiration, and the expectation of excellence held as the goal for Santa Rosa Schools. From this exceptional group, one teacher is selected as Santa Rosa’s nominee for Florida Teacher of the Year.

Santa Rosa Education Foundation hosts the annual Golden Apple Celebration to honor Santa Rosa Teacher of the Year nominees and celebrate all of our dedicated educators in the Santa Rosa School District.  For more information about the Golden Apple Celebration, click here.

2022 Santa Rosa County Teacher of the Year

Santa Rosa Superintendent of Schools Dr. Karen Barber, Santa Rosa County 2023 Teacher of the Year Zack Butler, Deputy Director of ESE Debbie Anderson

2023Santa Rosa Teacher of the Year 

2023 Santa Rosa County Teacher of the Year Nominees 

Kay Pape, Avalon Middle 

Shannon Measel, Bagdad Elementary 

Mary Stankard, Berryhill Elementary 

Sierra Fisher, Central 

Lynne McDonald, Chumuckla Elementary 

Zack Butler, Dillon Center 

Shelley Dunn, Dixon Intermediate 

Selina Walker, Dixon Primary 

Morgan Evans, East Bay K-8 

Emily Craft, East Milton Elementary 

Jenny Grubb, Gulf Breeze Elementary 

Sarah Smith, Gulf Breeze High 

Linda Brothers, Gulf Breeze Middle 

Steven Bienkowski, Hobbs Middle 

Allison Buffington, Holley-Navarre Intermediate 

Ashley Hall, Holley-Navarre Middle 

Latonya Steadman, Holley-Navarre Primary 

Sue Pohlmann, Jackson Pre-Kindergarten 

Rhonda Adams, Jay Elementary  

Lana Rowell, Jay High 

Rita Gunter, King Middle 

Tyler Sahlin, Locklin Technical Center 

Tracey Worrell, Milton High  

Greg Boozer, Navarre High  

Sheena Barron, Oriole Beach Elementary 

Shanon Kyser, Pace High  

Michelle Wade, Pea Ridge Elementary 

Sandy Fall, Rhodes Elementary 

April Davis, Russell Elementary 

Trish Droogsma, Santa Rosa High/Adult 

Rachel Wade, Santa Rosa Online 

Lauren West, Sims Middle  

Ashley Huggins, West Navarre Intermediate 

Christy Smith, West Navarre Primary 

Paul Miller, Woodlawn Beach Middle